Home » Georgia Reference Shelf » Colleges and Universities

Colleges and Universities

Public Institutions Private Institutions Other Institutions Links

Public Institutions

Research Universities Regional Universities State Universities State Colleges Two-Year Colleges Technical Colleges

Private Institutions

Private Universities
  • Brenau University (1878)
    Located in Gainesville, Brenau is a liberal arts university offering baccalaureate, master's, and specialist degrees.
  • Clark Atlanta University (1988)
    Clark Atlanta is one of the nation's premier historically-black private universities. It was formed in 1988 from the merger of Atlanta University and Clark College.
  • Emory University (1836)
    Emory is located in urban Atlanta; the university has a national reputation for academic excellence.
  • Life University (1974)
    Life University offers courses in chiropractic medicine, nutrition, and business.
  • Mercer University (1833)
    Located in Macon, Mercer is a Baptist-affiliated institution offering a broad range of studies.
  • Morehouse School of Medicine (1981)
    MSM was founded to train minority physicians and to train doctors to aid medically-underserved areas.
  • Oglethorpe University (1835)
    Orginally located in Milledgeville, Oglethorpe relocated to Atlanta in 1916; the campus is noted for its fine Gothic Revival architecture.
  • South University (1899)
    A regional private university, South's largest campus is located in Savannah; the university offers business, healthcare, legal, and accounting courses.
Private Four-Year Colleges
  • Agnes Scott College (1906)
    This liberal arts and sciences college for women was the first institution in Georgia to receive accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; it is located in Decatur.
  • American InterContinental University (1977)
    AIU operates two Atlanta campuses specializing in business, design, and information technology.
  • Bauder College (1964)
    Bauder is located in Atlanta; the institution awards one bachelor of science degree, in business.
  • Berry College (1902)
    Founded near Rome as a school for rural boys, Berry offers a liberal arts education tempered with Christian values and work experience.
  • Brewton-Parker College (1904)
    Brewton-Parker is affiliated with the Georgia Baptist Convention; it is located in Mount Vernon, and offers five baccalaureate degrees.
  • LaGrange College (1831)
    LaGrange is the oldest private college in Georgia; it is a four-year liberal arts and science college and is affiliated with the United Methodist Church.
  • Morehouse College (1867)
    Morehouse is the nation's only all-male historically-black college; it is located in Atlanta.
  • Morris Brown College (1881)
    Located in Atlanta, Morris Brown is affiliated with the African Methodist Episcopal Church.
  • Paine College (1882)
    Located in Savannah, Paine is a historically-black college offering degrees in liberal arts and business.
  • Piedmont College (1897)
    Associated with the Congregationalist Church, Piedmont is located in Demorest and offers a liberal arts education.
  • Reinhardt College (1883)
    Located in Waleska, Reinhardt is a four-year liberal arts institution and is affiliated with the United Methodist Church.
  • Shorter College (1873)
    Located in Rome, Shorter is a liberal arts college affiliated with the Georgia Baptist Convention.
  • Spelman College (1881)
    Founded as the Atlanta Baptist Female Seminary in 1881, Spelman is the oldest historically-black college for women in the nation.
  • Thomas University (1950)
    Located in Thomasville, Thomas University serves south Georgia and north Florida; the university offers graduate and undergraduate degree programs.
  • Wesleyan College (1836)
    Located in Macon, Wesleyan is the oldest college for women in the country; the school is affiliated with the United Methodist Church.
Private Two Year Colleges
  • Andrew College (1854)
    Andrew College, located in Cuthbert, is related to the United Methodist Church and offers a liberal arts curriculum.
  • Young Harris College (1886)
    Young Harris was chartered by Georgia Methodists; it offers a two-year liberal arts education within a Christian environment.
Seminaries and Christian Colleges
  • Atlanta Christian College (1937)
    ACC is located in East Point; the college offers bachelor's degrees with an emphasis on Biblical Studies.
  • Columbia Theological Seminary (1828)
    Located in Decatur, Columbia is an institution of the Presbyterian Church (USA) and offers five graduate degree programs.
  • Covenant College (1955)
    Covenant moved to Lookout Mountain in 1964; the college offers a liberal arts and sciences education with a Christian emphasis.
  • Emmanuel College (1919)
    Located in Franklin Springs, Emmanuel College provides undergraduate education in a Christian environment.
  • Interdenominational Theological Center (1958)
    ITC is an ecumenical school of theology located in Atlanta; the school includes six historic African American seminaries.
  • Psychological Studies Institute (1973)
    PSI operates a campus in Atlanta; the institution offers degree programs in Christian counseling and therapy.
  • Toccoa Falls College (1907)
    Toccoa Falls combines liberal arts with biblical and theological studies.
  • Truett McConnell College (1946)
    Located in Cleveland, Truett-McConnell is a Georgia Baptist college offering a bachelor of arts degree in music.
Art Schools
  • Art Institute of Atlanta (1949)
    The Institute offers bachelor's and associate's degrees in the arts and fine arts; it is one of 31 Art Institutes in the U.S. and Canada.
  • Atlanta College of Art (1905)
    ACA is the oldest private college of art and design in the southeast.
  • Savannah College of Art and Design (1978)
    SCAD offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in art, fine arts, and architecture.